Road to Rio

Delta Groove

Back in 1997, Fabulous Thunderbirds leader Kim Wilson started a label called Blue Collar Music. It lasted for three releases:  Wilson’s own “My Blues,” pianist Fred Kaplan’s “Signifyin’ ” and guitarist Al Blake’s “Mr. Blake’s Blues.”

Kaplan and Blake are two of the finest L.A.-based white blues players, a fact not lost on Wilson after he left his adopted hometown of Austin, Texas, to return to Southern California. In 2005, Blake and Kaplan reunited with other members of the legendary Hollywood Fats Band under the Hollywood Blue Flames moniker and released “Soul Sanctuary.” This is the incredible follow-up.

Ably filling the late Hollywood Fats’ guitar shoes is Kirk “Eli” Fletcher, part of the new generation of West Coast bluesmen. Special guests include Wilson on harmonica on one track, and guitarist Junior Watson on three cuts.

A bonus disc of unreleased live performances by the Hollywood Fats Band from 1979-80 includes appearances by Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson and Roy Brown.

1. Road To Rio
2. Everybody’s Blues
3. Coffee Grinding Man
4. Steady Rollin’
5. Long Black Cadillac
6. Gumbo Grinder
7. Gone Away
8. 3rd Degree Burn
9. Let’s Rock Awhile
10. Dr. Blake’s Boogie
11. Black Chili Pepper
12. Sharpest Man In Town
13. Junior’s Boogie Rocket
14. Let Me Love You
15. Honeydripper

Total time: 54:28

Bonus Disc
“Larger Than Life”
Hollywood Fats Band

1. Fats Fries One
2. Nasty Boogie Woogie
3. Baby Let’s Play House
4. Side Tracked
5. Kidney Stew Blues
6. Cleanhead Blues
7. Shake Rattle And Roll
8. Rockinitis
9. This Little Voice
10. Love For Sale
11. Boogie Woogie Blues
12. Motel Time

Total time: 1:01:48

External Links
artist’s link
iTunes Store