Camper van Beethoven

New Roman Times


Well folks, here it is. They’ve been hinting at it with reunion shows and archival releases for some time now. It took two years, but there really was no hurry, since the original intention was to regroup on stage and not in the studio.

Kudos to Camper van Beethoven, for taking it one step further than where they left off 15 years ago and logically arriving at a prog rock opera about a young soldier from the Fundamentalist Christian Republic of Texas who lives in a fictional North America in which there’s many different countries that fight each other every once in a while, and Texas has gone neo-fascist and California has had a civil war.

There will be no spoilers here about what happens to the protagonist of “New Roman Times,” but the cat will be let out of the bag concerning CVB’s acquisition of superhuman abilities when it comes to playing their instruments. These guys are amazing when it comes to ska, norteño, garage rock, country, klezmer and Middle Eastern music.

This is not your father’s Camper.

1. Prelude
2. Sons Of The New Golden West
3. 51 7
4. White Fluffy Clouds
5. That Gum You Like Is Back In Style
6. Might Makes Right
7. Militia Song
8. R ‘n’ R Uzbekistan
9. Sons Of The New Golden West (reprise)
10. New Roman Times
11. The Poppies Of Balmorhea
12. The Long Plastic Hallway
13. I Am Talking To This Flower
14. Come Out
15. Los Tigres Traficantes
16. I Hate This Part Of Texas
17. Hippy Chix
18. Civil Disobedience
19. Discotheque CVB
20. Hey Brother

Total time: 1.1 hours

External Links
artist’s website
iTunes Store

Tags: , , , , , , ,

No Comments »

Backdoor Men

Mohawk Combover 

Handsome Productions

All right, punk. You better get over here and listen to this reunion album by the notorious Backdoor Men. What’s that? You never heard of ’em? Where you been, livin’ under a rock or somethin’?

Well, maybe it has been 20 years or so since these participants in Cleveland’s late-’70s rock scene disappeared after their first reunion, under the name Napoleon in Rags; which followed a split into two groups — Terry & The Tornadoes and The Bombers — after their first three years of existence. Are you following this?

Fact is they worked that town’s punk circuit from 1977 to 1987 in one form or another, inspired by local acts the Dead Boys and Pere Ubu.

Now they’re back, on disc at least, taking their second chance with a batch of new material that reflects all their phases and influences: punk, psychedelic, blues, garage and folk.

They’ve still got their chops — and their attitude. So check it out before I mess you up.

1. Take Me Away
2. Cultural Insanity
3. Not Fed Up With You Yet
4. Bus Station Gyration
5. I’m So Fucked Up
6. Fuck The French
7. Hallelujah I’m A Goofball Bum
8. Pure Heart
9. Oklahoma Jack
10. It’s So Strong
11. Knockin’ ‘Em Down
12. Everything Is Killing Me (And There’s Nothing That’s Worth Dying For)
13. Well Of Rage
14. Shit Outta Luck
15. Go Home Party Boy
16. End of the Line
17. Eve Of Destruction

Total time: 46.2 minutes

External Links
artist’s website

Tags: , , , , ,

No Comments »