The Thief

Swollen Records

The David Thom Band is a breath of fresh bluegrass air.

At least enough that fellow Marin County, California, resident and mandolinist extraordinaire David Grisman endorses them and puts in right-speaker appearances on original Thom compositions “Rowan’s Run” and the title track. Other guests on the CD are bluegrass diva Kathy Kallick and guitar maestro Jim Nunally.

“Ship of Fools” shows that the group can cover the Grateful Dead as well as any bluegrass outfit (Yonder Mountain String Band, look out!), and they shine on traditional tune “Fire on the Mountain” and country standard “When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again.” A real gem is unearthed in an old Bailes Brothers number that also worked well for Red Allen, “I Guess I’ll Go On Dreamin’.” And the depths of obscurity are plumbed for “I Found a Way,” a gospel number the DTB found on an unnamed Flatt & Scruggs bootleg.

For bluegrass with a modern sensibility that doesn’t cross the line into “new grass,” this is the ticket.

1. Stone Walls And Steel Bars
2. Rowan’s Run
3. Ship Of Fools
4. I Found A Way
5. Sarah Jane
6. Fire On The Mountain
7. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again
8. The Thief
9. I Guess I’ll Go On Dreamin’
10. God Guide Our Leader’s Hand
11. Blue & Lonesome
12. Lauren’s Lullaby
13. Memories Of Mother And Dad

Total time: 46.2 minutes

External Links
artist’s website