The Last Roundup


Finally, the extensively bootlegged 1977 concert, recorded at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium during Poco’s “Indian Summer” tour, is officially released.

This is the record the band wanted to put out in response to “Poco Live,” a 2-year-old recording issued by their previous label in direct competition with 1976’s “Rose of Cimarron.”

After the tour, bassist Timothy B. Schmit left, followed by drummer George Grantham. Corporate types dictated that younger pop musicians be hired as replacements. The new lineup carried on, and “The Last Roundup” was forgotten.

Featuring an orchestra on a couple of tracks and a guest appearance by former founding member Richie Furay, “TLR” emerges as a well-arranged, well-performed and well-recorded snapshot of one of the finest country-rock groups. Grantham, Schmit, lead guitarist Paul Cotton and string wizard/pedal steel man Rusty Young were in their prime, and the genre may never see a better group of musicians again.

1. Livin’ In The Band
2. Dallas
3. Magnolia
4. Honky Tonk Downstairs
5. When You Come Around
6. Sagebrush Serenade
7. Indian Summer
8. Too Many Nights Too Long
9. Starin’ At The Sky
10. Twenty Years
11. The Dance
12. Keep On Tryin’
13. Hoedown/Slow Poke
14. Rose Of Cimarron

Total time: 1 hour

External Links
artist’s website