Blueground Undergrass



In their previous incarnation, experimental bluegrass outfit BGUG had a six-piece lineup that included pedal steel. But the group broke up in 2002 after four years and three albums, leaving peers Yonder Mountain String Band, Railroad Earth and the now-defunct Leftover Salmon to kick out the jams.

About a year and a half ago, banjoist/leader Jeff “The Reverend” Mosier reformed the band as a five-piece, leaving out the pedal steel. Back for more on “Faces” is original fiddler David Blackmon, who’s played for everyone from Jerry Reed to Widespread Panic. New guitarist Matthew Williams, formerly of Capt. Soularcat, brings more rock to the sound as well as five tunes to the record. Bassist Francisco Fattoruso (son of Argentine keyboardist Hugo) plays a mean five-string but apparently for the album only. Matt Cowley, from another Mosier group, the Ear Reverants, is in the drummer’s seat.

The Reverend contributed three tracks: “Ole Love Ole Tune,” featuring Col. Bruce Hampton (ret.) and Jimmy Herring, two of Mosier’s old bandmates from the Aquarium Rescue Unit; “Clock Goes On”; and the title track, a song that he says came out “in one piece” after he nearly drowned.

Rounding out the set are cover songs of Guy Clark (“Dublin Blues”), Ralph Stanley (“Clinch Mountain Backstep”), Jerry Garcia/Robert Hunter (“Black Muddy River”) and Bill Danoff (“Potter’s Wheel”).

1. Faces
2. Dublin Blues
3. In This Life
4. Our Feet
5. Feel At Home
6. Clock Goes On
7. Like Discovering The Ocean
8. Renee
9. Potter’s Wheel
10. Clinch Mountain Backstep
11. Ole Love Ole Tune
12. Black Muddy River 

Total time: 1:04:03

External Links
artist’s link


No Comments »

No Comments

Post a comment